

Staff Report

Report To:	Council Meeting
From:	Jamie Simpson, Health and Safety Coordinator
Date:	2020-04-23
Report:	2020-02
Subject:	April Health and Safety Committee Report

Recommendation:

That West Elgin Council hereby receives the report from Jamie Simpson Health and Safety Coordinator for information purposes.

Purpose:

To provide Council with an update on the activities of the Health and Safety Committee for the first quarter of 2020

Background:

- Some members completed their Part I and II training in London
- The Gap Audit was instrumental, giving us a template to move forward and stay in compliance
- We have designated people for monthly building inspections within West Elgin, the Coordinator receives all copies to be kept on file
- Mike Kalita and Jamie Simpson agreed to do the annual building inspections
- The Health and Safety boards have been updated
- We have good support from Fire Station #1 and #2
- 2 new committee members joined last fall
- The Committee members to date are: Jamie Simpson, Tim Blain, John Campbell, Mike Kalita and Martha Gawley
- The Committee had a 2020 luncheon kickoff meeting where discussed meeting dates, SDS sheets, First aid recertification's, confined space training
- 2020 Green books have been ordered, arriving in May
- Extensive measures have been taken to ensure employees are safe and informed through the COVID-19 pandemic
- Some of the goals the committee has for 2020 is to keep a strong member base, carry on with monthly inspections, quarterly meetings as well as reporting to council and above all be incident free

In closing, as a committee we accomplished amazing things in 2019. Most of the workers had a hard time getting on board with the Health and Safety Committee because it had failed years before but I was determined to make it work and succeed as it is law. I truly appreciate the support of Council.

Report Approval Details

Document Title:	Health and Safety Update.docx
Attachments:	
Final Approval Date:	Apr 17, 2020

This report and all of its attachments were approved and signed as outlined below:

Jana Nethercott