

Municipality of West Elgin

Minutes

Special Meeting of Council

November 7, 2024, 4:00 p.m.
Council Chambers
160 Main Street
West Lorne

Present: Mayor Leatham

Deputy Mayor Tellier Councillor Denning Councillor Statham

Staff Present: M. Badura, CAO/ Treasurer

Terri Towstiuc, Clerk

1. Call to Order

Mayor Leatham called the Special Meeting of Council to order at 4:00 pm.

2. Adoption of Agenda

Moved: Deputy Mayor Tellier **Seconded:** Councillor Denning

That West Elgin Council hereby adopts the Special Meeting Agenda of November 7, 2024 as presented.

Carried

3. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

No disclosures

4. Public Meeting - Filling the Seat of Councillor, Ward 3

The Clerk advised that two applications withdrew their applications, being R. Hoglund and P. Wardell, and J. Clement-Christie was unable to attend the Special Meeting of Council.

Each applicant will be provided up to five (5) minutes to speak, followed by a maximum of two (2) questions per member of Council, per applicant.

4.1 Applications Received

4.1.1 Ronna Hoglund

Withdrew application November 6, 2024.

4.1.2 Pamela Wardell

Withdrew application November 6, 2024.

- 4.1.3 Karen Booth
- 4.1.4 Trevor Lee
- 4.1.5 Filipe Sousa

4.1.6 Jordan Clement-Christie

Unable to attend meeting.

- 4.1.7 Heather Doughtery
- 4.1.8 Angela Cammaert
- 4.1.9 Catherine Gow-Chamberlain
- 4.1.10 Andrei Kovalevskii

5. Recess

Recess from 5:18 to 5:37pm.

6. Appointment of Ward 3 Councillor

Each member of Council was given an opportunity to put forth their recommendation for Ward 3 Councillor. After brief discussion, a nomination was put forward, and the following recommendation was made:

Moved: Councillor Statham

That West Elgin Council hereby nominates and appoints Filipe Sousa to fill the Vacancy of the Office of Councillor, Ward 3, for the remainder of the 2022-2026 term of Council.

Loss

Moved: Councillor Denning **Seconded:** Deputy Mayor Tellier

That West Elgin Council hereby nominates and appoints Heather Doughtery to fill the Vacancy of the Office of Councillor, Ward 3, for the remainder of the 2022-2026 term of Council.

Carried

7. Confirmatory By-law

Moved: Councillor Statham

Seconded: Deputy Mayor Tellier

That By-law 2024-74 being a By-law to confirm the proceeding of the Special Meeting of Council held on November 7, 2024, be read a first, second and third and final time.

Carried

8. Adjournment

Moved: Councillor Denning **Seconded:** Councillor Statham

That the Council of the Municipality of West Elgin hereby adjourn the Special Meeting of Council at 5:45 pm to meet again at 4:00pm, on Thursday, November 14, 2024, or at the call of the Chair.

Carried

Richard Leatham, Mayor	Terri Towstiuc, Clerk