

## **ELGIN GROUP POLICE SERVICES BOARD**

Chair Sally Martyn Tel. 519-631-1460 450 Sunset Drive St. Thomas, ON N5R 5V1

Municipality of Bayham | Municipality of Central Elgin | Municipality of Dutton Dunwich Municipality of West Elgin | Township of Malahide | Township of Southwold

April 28th, 2021

Dear Mayor McPhail,

Further to the letter I sent to you on April 16<sup>th</sup>, 2021, I am writing to provide you with an update regarding the Elgin Group Police Services Board (PSB) composition and the next steps required for our application to the Ministry of the Solicitor General.

I am pleased to report that all six (6) member municipalities of the Elgin Group PSB have confirmed their support for a status quo composition moving forward for the PSB. Elgin Group PSB member municipalities include the Municipality of Bayham, the Municipality of Central Elgin, the Municipality of Dutton Dunwich, the Township of Malahide, the Township of Southwold, and the Municipality of West Elgin.

Our application to the Ministry will include the following members:

- one (1) elected representative appointed by resolution from Eastern Elgin, alternating every three (3) years between the Township of Malahide and the Municipality of Bayham;
- one (1) elected representative appointed by resolution of the Council of the Municipality of Central Elgin for a three (3) year term;
- one (1) community representative from Western Elgin, appointed by resolution jointly by the Township
  of Southwold, the Municipality of Dutton/Dunwich, and the Municipality of West Elgin for a three (3)
  year term; and
- two (2) persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

This 5-member PSB meets the requirements specified by the Ministry, which includes: 20% provincial appointees; 20% citizen representatives; and is a minimum of 5 members.

Resolution Required: If your municipality has not provided a resolution to the Secretary-Administrator (cao@elgin.ca) indicating your support for status quo composition, I ask that you do so by May 14<sup>th</sup>, 2021.

**Application:** The Elgin Group PSB Secretary-Administrator will complete <u>one</u> application to the Ministry of the Solicitor General on behalf of the member municipalities before the June 7<sup>th</sup>, 2021 deadline.

I would like to again express my sincerest appreciation for your leadership and your municipality's support throughout this process. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Yours very truly,

Sally Martyn

Chair, Elgin Group Police Services Board