

ELGIN GROUP POLICE SERVICESBOARD Chair Sally Martyn Tel. 519-631-1460

450 Sunset Drive St. Thomas, ON N5R 5V1

Municipality of Bayham | Municipality of Central Elgin | Municipality of Dutton Dunwich Municipality of West Elgin | Township of Malahide | Township of Southwold

January 6, 2022

Dear Mayor McPhail and Municipality of West Elgin Council,

On behalf of the Elgin Group Police Services Board ("PSB"), I am writing to request that West Elgin Council reappoint by resolution Ida McCallum as the community representative from Western Elgin.

In accordance with the Elgin Group Police Services Board Governance and Procedural By-Law, the Board shall consist of five (5) members:

- (a) one (1) elected representative appointed by resolution from Eastern Elgin, alternating every 3 years between the Township of Malahide and the Municipality of Bayham;
- (b) one (1) elected representative appointed by resolution of the Council of the Municipality of Central Elgin for a 3-year term;
- (c) one (1) community representative from Western Elgin, appointed by resolution jointly by the Township of Southwold, the Municipality of Dutton/Dunwich and the Municipality of West Elgin for a 3-year term; and
- (d) two (2) persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor In Council.

Under the Community Safety and Policing Act (CSPA), 2022, Section 10 municipalities were required to submit a proposal indicating the preferred composition for a new OPP detachment board. On behalf of the Elgin Group municipalities, the Secretary/Administrator submitted an application for status quo board composition in June 2021. Once the Act comes into effect and the Ministry approves the board composition, the Elgin Group Polices Services Board will be dissolved, and a new board will be established.

Although we anticipate hearing from the Ministry soon, the current Board will remain in place until that time. The appointment of Ida McCallum ended in 2021. Instead of appointing a new community representative from Western Elgin for a few months, I would like to request that Ida McCallum be reappointed to the Board until such time that the Ministry approves the new

Board composition. At that time, the Board will dissolve; a new Board will be formed; and new representatives will be appointed.

Please note that letters have been sent to the Township of Southwold and the Municipality of Dutton Dunwich requesting that Ida McCallum be reappointed as the community representative for Western Elgin. Letters have also been sent to the Municipality of Bayham, the Township of Malahide, and the Municipality of Central Elgin requesting that the elected representatives from Eastern Elgin and Central Elgin be reappointed.

I respectfully ask that you provide me with written confirmation of the appointment once it is made. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours very truly,

Jacky Martyn

Sally Martyn

Chair, Elgin Group Police Services Board

cc: Elgin Group Police Services Board