Tri-County Water Board of Management

Minutes

Date:December 14, 2021, 7:00 p.m.

Location:West Elgin Community Complex - Hybrid Meeting

160 Main Street West Lorne

Electronic Hybrid Meeting

Present: Allan Mayhew, Southwest Middlesex

Angela Cammaert, West Elgin

Bonnie Rowe, West Elgin

Doug Bartlett, Southwest Middlesex

Duncan McPhail, West Elgin Ken Loveland, Dutton Dunwich

Marigay Wilkins, Southwest Middlesex

Taraesa Tellier, West Elgin Tim Sunderland, Chatham-Kent

Michael Noe, Newbury

Mike Hentz, Dutton Dunwich

Amarilis Drouillard, Dutton Dunwich

Staff Present: Jana Nethercott, Recording Secretary

Magda Badura, CAO/Treasurer Jill Bellchamber-Glazier, SWM

Also Present: Mark Harris, OCWA

Susan Budden, OCWA

Tracy Johnson, Dutton Dunwich

Kristen McGill, SWM

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic and physical distancing requirements, this meeting will be held as hybrid with some attendance in person and streamed virtually.

1. Call to Order

Chair D. McPhail called the meeting to order at 7:07 p.m.

3. Adoption of Agenda

Moved: Amarilis Drouillard Seconded: Angela Cammaert

That Tri-County Water Board hereby adopts the Agenda for December 14, 2021 as presented.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

2. Welcome New Member

Chair McPhail welcome Amarilis Drouillard as a new representative from Dutton Dunwich.

4. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

No disclosures

5. Minutes

Moved: Allan Mayhew Seconded: Bonnie Rowe

That minutes of the Tri-County Water Board meeting on October 26,2021 be adopted as circulated and printed.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

6. Business Arising from Minutes

6.1 Proposal for Coloured Water Review

Chair McPhail reported that in speaking with Elgin County CAO, the County has a concern over the County Engineer reviewing the Tri-County Water Board system.

Board requested that staff return in January with the proposal from OCWA regarding a review of the plant for coloured water issues and that a letter be sent to Brian Lima thanking him for his efforts.

Moved: Allan Mayhew

Seconded: Tim Sunderland

That the proposal from OCWA with regards to reviewing the Tri-County Plant for possible upgrades be reconsidered at the next meeting of the Tri-County Water Board.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

7. Staff Reports

7.1 Expenditure Request to Conduct Inspection of Water Treatment Plant

Moved: Allan Mayhew Seconded: Doug Bartlett

That the Tri-County Water Board hereby approve the expenditure request of \$9,745.93 for the inspection of the Tri-County Water Plant.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

7.2 Phragmites 2021 Summary Report

Moved: Bonnie Rowe Seconded: Michael Noe

That the Tri-County Water Board hereby receives and files the 2021 Phragmites summary report.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

7.3 Emergency Plan and Communications Protocol

Moved: Allan Mayhew

Seconded: Marigay Wilkins

That Tri-County Water Board hereby receives the report from Magda Badura, Administrator and Jana Nethercott, Secretary re: Emergency Plan and Communications Protocol for the Tri-County Water System; and

That staff be directed to prepare a communications protocol and unsafe water contingency plan for the Tri-County Water System to be presented no later than the April 26, 2022 meeting.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

8. Financials

Marigay Wilkins inquired when an asset management plan will be ready. Magda Badura stated that they are on track for the deadline. Doug Bartlett inquired if Tri-County has cyber insurance. OCWA staff to check to see if their Cyber Insurance covers Tri-County and report back.

8.1 2022 Budget

Magda Badura went through the Budget and explained this is proposing a rate increase to \$1.06 which is a rate of \$0.05.

Moved: Marigay Wilkins Seconded: Taraesa Tellier

That Tri-County Water Board hereby approves the Multi-Year Budget as presented.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

9. 2022 Meeting Dates

Moved: Mike Hentz

Seconded: Michael Noe

That the Tri-County Water Board hereby approve the meeting dates of January 25, April 26, July 26, October 18 and December 13 for the 2022 calendar year.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

10. New Business

Tim Sunderland requested an update on the signing of the Master Agreement. Jana Nethercott stated that the agreement has been signed by 3 parties and will be sent to the 4th shortly and hopefully sent to Chatham-Kent, the final signatory in the new year. Once it has been signed an original will be delivered to each party.

11. Adjournment

Moved: Ken Loveland Seconded: Bonnie Rowe

That the Tri-County Water Board hereby adjourn at 8:01 p.m. to reconvene on January 25, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. or at the Call of the Chair.

For (12): Allan Mayhew, Angela Cammaert, Bonnie Rowe, Doug Bartlett, Duncan McPhail, Ken Loveland, Marigay Wilkins, Taraesa Tellier, Tim Sunderland, Michael Noe, Mike Hentz, and Amarilis Drouillard

Disposition: Carried (12 to 0)

Dungan MaDhail Chair	Jone Nothersett December
Duncan McPhail, Chair	Jana Nethercott, Recording Secretary